The Extemporaneous Music and Arts Society (EMAS) is an art collective dedicated to advancing improvised and experimental work in Kansas City. Founded in 2021 by Seth A Davis and Evan Verploegh.

Upcoming Performances

Friday, June 2
Kansas City Contemporary Music Festival - The Bauer (KCMO) - 6-9pm

Wednesday, June 7

EMAS, Derek Moneypeny, Ak'Chamel

Farewell (KCMO) - 8pm

Friday, June 16

Film Score of Metropolis (EMAS)

Stray Cat Film Center (KCMO) - 7:30pm

Wednesday, June 21

EMAS, Maria Elena Silva, Devin Gray

Firehouse Gallery (KCMO) - 7:30pm

Thursday, June 22
Brendan Whalen/Maria Elena Silva/EMAS
Howdy (KCMO) - 8pm

Sunday, June 25
Pet Peeves (CHI), Kyle Motl (NYC), Kevin Cheli (STL), EMAS (KC)
Replay Lounge (Lawrence, KS) - 10pm

EMAS Records

EMAS Records was founded in 2021 and is focused on releases from people affiliated with EMAS to promote improvised and experimental music in Kansas City and the greater midwest.


Brennan Connors, Seth A Davis, Evan Verploegh

Connors/Davis/Verploegh (2022)

EMAS Quartet

EMS (2022)

Krista Kopper & Benjamin Baker

Open Sea (2023)

Krista Kopper & Evan Verploegh

For the Trees (2022)

Torches Mauve (Evan Verploegh & Seth Andrew Davis)

Volume One (2023)

Volume Two (2023)


VDO (2022)

Verploegh & Baker

Singles (2021)

Badger State Games (2022)

Performers Featured in Past EMAS Productions

Ben Baker (music)
Alexis Borth (dance)
Bob Bucko Jr. (music)
Nora Burkitt (dance)
Nick Cavazos (video)
Kevin Cheli (music)
Brandon Cooper (music)
Meagan Conley (music)
Brad Cox (music)
Seth Andrew Davis (music)
Michael Eaton (music)
Kelley Gant (music)
Katarina Fitzpatrick (dance)
Dwight Frizzell (music)
Jeff Harshbarger (music)
Kyle Hutchins (music)
Jeff Kaiser (music)
John Kizilarmut (music)
Brooke Knoll (music)
Krista Kopper (music)
Kwan Leung Ling (music)
Jon Mueller (music)
Kyle Mullins (dance)
Aaron Osborne (music)
Alberto Racanati (music)
Damon Smith (music)
Brian Steever (music)
Mike Stover (music)
Ben Tervort (music)
Irene Vallar (dance)
Troy Van Horn (music)
Evan Verploegh (music)
Alan Voss (music)
Drew Williams (music)
Jeramy Zimmerman (dance)