The Extemporaneous Music and Arts Society (EMAS) is an art collective dedicated to advancing improvised and experimental work in Kansas City. Founded in 2021 by Seth A Davis and Evan Verploegh.

Upcoming Performances

Saturday, March 11, 2023
Shawn Hansen/Nathan Alexander Pape, Shante Clair + VDO
Revolution Records (KCMO) - 8pm

Sunday, March 12, 2023
Krista Kopper, Evan Verploegh, Drew Williams
The Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven (KCMO) - 4pm

Tuesday, March 14, 2023
CRAG Quartet/Joshua Gerowitz/EMAS Quartet
Bunker Center for the Arts (KCMO) - 7:30pm

Wednesday, March 15, 2023
EMAS Presents: Gala Flagello's Graphic Climate
Charlotte Street Foundation (KCMO) - 7:30pm

Friday, March 17, 2023
The Flesh Pit (KCMO) - 7pm

Saturday, March 18, 2023
Josey Records (KCMO) -  7pm

Saturday, April 1, 2023
Maria Elena Silva / Scott Dean Taylor + EMAS Ensemble (lineup TBD)
Farewell (KCMO) - 8pm

EMAS Records

EMAS Records was founded in 2021 and is focused on releases from people affiliated with EMAS to promote improvised and experimental music in Kansas City and the greater midwest.


Brennan Connors, Seth A Davis, Evan Verploegh

Connors/Davis/Verploegh (2022)

EMAS Quartet

EMS (2022)

Krista Kopper & Benjamin Baker

Open Sea (2023)

Krista Kopper & Evan Verploegh

For the Trees (2022)

Torches Mauve (Evan Verploegh & Seth Andrew Davis)

Volume One (2023)

Volume Two (2023)


VDO (2022)

Verploegh & Baker

Singles (2021)

Badger State Games (2022)

Performers Featured in Past EMAS Productions

Ben Baker (music)
Alexis Borth (dance)
Bob Bucko Jr. (music)
Nora Burkitt (dance)
Nick Cavazos (video)
Kevin Cheli (music)
Brandon Cooper (music)
Meagan Conley (music)
Brad Cox (music)
Seth Andrew Davis (music)
Michael Eaton (music)
Kelley Gant (music)
Katarina Fitzpatrick (dance)
Dwight Frizzell (music)
Jeff Harshbarger (music)
Kyle Hutchins (music)
Jeff Kaiser (music)
John Kizilarmut (music)
Brooke Knoll (music)
Krista Kopper (music)
Kwan Leung Ling (music)
Jon Mueller (music)
Kyle Mullins (dance)
Aaron Osborne (music)
Alberto Racanati (music)
Damon Smith (music)
Brian Steever (music)
Mike Stover (music)
Ben Tervort (music)
Irene Vallar (dance)
Troy Van Horn (music)
Evan Verploegh (music)
Alan Voss (music)
Drew Williams (music)
Jeramy Zimmerman (dance)